Right now …

Right now …

I am loving the fall weather.  I’m trying to get outside and walk every day, but not succeeding yet.  But when I am out walking, I try hard to really look around, take deep breaths and take in this beautiful weather.  The sky has been so blue.  I can’t wait until the leaves really start to change.

I am really loving how great my front porch & front yard looks. Seriously, I feel like I knocked it out of the park this year.  There are 11 pumpkins in my tiny front yard, plus the basket of mini pumpkins on the porch, but it does not seem like too much.  There are five pots of mums, plus all the mums I planted in the yard last fall, and two pots of purple pansies.  It’s all about placement!  When we came home from DC on Monday morning, my neighbor had put out all her pumpkins and mums and all I could think was, “Oh no you didn’t!”  HA!  Now, please note that I absolutely love my neighbor and we are super lucky to have the Mitchell family next door this year, especially while Chris is gone.  But I wasn’t about to let Catherine outdo me in the pumpkin/mum department because I am AWESOME when it comes to this!  I even built a pumpkin topiary based on an idea I saw in Southern Living magazine.  Only an hour after I had finished my yard, I ran into Laura at the commissary who told me that she thought my yard looked great and was inspiring! What a great compliment!  I like knowing my work is inspiring!

I am really missing Chris, but the last few days have been really good days for me.  He’s been gone for three months now.  We won’t see him for R&R for another six months.  We are planning a HUGE trip for R&R this year … we are going to Hawaii!  And yes, we are taking Michael with us.  We haven’t told Michael yet; we wanted to keep it a surprise.  We’ve teased Michael for many years, telling him he’s already been to Hawaii (because I was pregnant with him the last time we were in Hawaii).  It’s going to be a pretty fast trip and I can already feel how exhausted I’m going to be because of jet lag, but I’m hopeful I can overcome all of that.

I’m having a much better week, after two absolutely horrid weeks this month.  It really helped to get away for the weekend and be surrounded by people who really love me and care for me and who are completely welcoming and including.  I absolutely hate being excluded from things, especially while Chris is gone.  The key really IS staying as busy as possible.  I don’t worry as much.  I don’t have time to think about not being included in so many things.  An object in motion stays in motion.  I’ve said it one hundred times.  I just need to keep moving.

I’m putting out feelers for a part-time job.  So far the MFP coordinator has only been able to find me volunteer positions.  I am absolutely not willing to do any more volunteering.  Between the spouse club board and Seminar 21, I do not wish to volunteer for anything else.  In my dream world, I would work three days a week from 8:30 to 3:00.  I don’t want to work on Wednesdays or Fridays.  Of course, I doubt I will find anything this specific … especially a job that actually pays.  But I will keep looking.

Michael has completed his first full month of high school.  I continue to be immensely proud of him.  He impresses me every day with his intelligence and his sense of humor.  Sometimes after dinner we watch Jeopardy together and I’m always so proud when he answers a question that I have no clue about. He seems to be doing well in school and he seems to enjoy it.  He really likes his science teacher because he is “young and full of energy.”  He says there are no teachers he dislikes this year, which is a huge relief.  He reports that he has the highest average in his Algebra class (114!) and says he’s doing well in his other classes.  I’ve helped him study for only a few tests in the past month (Spanish, history and science) and just last night he asked me to help him with a vocabulary test tonight.  I’m always happy when he asks for help, especially knowing that he needs me less and less.   He is getting all of his homework done, despite some hair pulling on my part.  He still gets very distracted by the computer.  His history homework took an hour on the computer last night, and I know that if I had been in the room with him the entire time, it wouldn’t have taken so long.  He continues to enjoy cross-country, although his run time seems to have already peaked for the season.  I don’t mind going to the away meets (especially so I can take pictures) and Michael always seems very pleased that I’m there.

I actually WON at Basket Bunco on Tuesday night.  Of course, there were only four girls playing, but still … it was the very first time every that I had the most wins and won the first choice of all the products offered.  I’m not sure how I will use my new basket yet, but I love that I won!  I’ve been invited to join another Bunco group as a substitute tonight.  I worried about leaving Michael for another night, but it doesn’t start until 7pm and it’s right across the street at the field house.  I will still be able to fix dinner and help him study for his test before I leave at 7:00.

As usual, I’m still struggling with procrastination, but I will continue to write out my “to do” lists every day and hope for the best.  Case in point: shopped for and ordered a bunch of new clothes from Talbots, but haven’t tried anything on yet beyond a sweater, a necklace and a pair of shoes.  Need to try everything on and decide if I’m keeping anything.

I need to quit messing around and get back into my scrap room.  I can feel my favorite hobby calling to me again and that’s a good thing. My goal is to get back in there the second week of October, after my MIL has departed from her week long visit.  (Of course, looking at my schedule, there’s already an event scheduled every single day that week.  Sigh.  The following week looks much better, so fingers are crossed that I’ll be scrapbooking by October 15)!  In the meantime, I need to clean up the room and get it ready for company beginning Saturday.  The shelf in the closet collapsed in the middle of the night about a week ago (that stuff never happens during the day when Chris is gone) and sent boxes and boxes of photos tumbling down.  Michael got up and helped me and we managed to rescue all but one box of photos.  For the time being, I think I can store all the photo boxes under my bed, but I need to find a place to put all those clothes.

Struggling with my weight, as always.  I managed to lose about seven pounds after Chris left, but can’t seem to get down any further.  Mostly because I’m not really trying.  I have six months until our trip to Hawaii and I really want to lose 30 pounds.  It’s totally doable — just five pounds a month — but I have to actually DO it.   I’ve bought the yoga mat, but haven’t used it yet.  I continue to find every excuse in the book to not exercise.  But I know in my heart that I don’t want to be this heavy when we go to Hawaii.

Just trying to stay happy and find things to do that make me feel fulfilled.

Counting the days until Chris returns …

About sendingcupcakelove

I'm an Army Wife and lover of all things cupcakes! Sending "Cupcake Love" (sending Georgetown Cupcakes) is one of my favorite things to do. I love to make someone's day!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

